Wednesday 15 July 2020
You are here:Blog»Philosophy»Buddhism»Dharma»Nagarjuniana
Monday, 16 February 2015 12:28


Nagarjuniana - coverNagarjuniana
- Studies in the Writings and Philosophy of Nagarjuna
— compiled by Chr. Lindtner

The author deals with the thirteen genuine works of Nagarjuna.

The first six are mainly dialectical works such as Mulamadhyamakakarika, Sunyatasaptati, Vigrahavyavartani, Vaidalyaprakarana, Vyavaharasiddhi, Yuktisastika followed by the remaining seven which are chiefly didactic texts - Catuhstava, Ratnavali, Prafityasamutpadahrdaya-karika, Sutrasamuccaya, Bodhicitta-vivarana, Suhrllekha, and Bodhisambhara (ka).

Nagarjuna and Naga Queen

Thus he roughly follows the prescriptive distinction between Yukti and Agama.

Although it will be a fascinating task to trace the impact of Nagarjuna's writings on the subsequent development inside and outside the domain of Buddhist thinking, the present study has to some extent paved the way for such research.

Chr. Lindtner's desire to treat all the works ascribed to Nagarjuna in one way or another has thus made it rather wide in its scope which does inevitably entail that numerous details or points of minor significance are tacitly passed by.

This scholarly study shall immensely help students and scholars in general and Mahayanist researchers of Buddhism in particular.

  Download / Read
[File about 9 MB]

It's important to bear in mind that this book is not a complete translation of Nagarjuna's major or authentic (as the author puts it) works. Some of them are translated (with Sanskrit or Tibetean originals in opposing pages), some are only refered to or analyzed (ie, a few remarks). For instance, Nagarjuna's main work - Mulamadhyamakakarika,  is given only a view of its structure.
So, if you're looking for Nagarjuna's collected works - this is not the book.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.