Print this page
Monday, 05 October 2015 00:00

Garland of Mahamudra Practices

Garland of Mahamudra Practices - coverGarland of Mahamudra Practices
— by Khenchen Konchog Gyaltshen

Mahamudra - or the Great Seal - refers to a path to enlightenment taught by the Buddha and transmitted through the spiritual lineage of Tilopa, Naropa, Marpa, and Milarepa.

Gampopa - a disciple of Milarepa, who lived in the eleventh century - brought together these teachings of the Buddha into one five-fold path consisting of an enlightened motivation, deity yoga, guru yoga, mahamudra and proper dedication. His main disciple - Pakmo Druba - gave this approach the name "The Profound Five-fold Path of Mahamudra".

Jigten Sumgon - the successor of Pakmo Druba - founded the Drikung Kagyu order and taught Mahamudra extensively.

The fifteenth successor of Jigten Sumgon - Kunga Rinchen, known for the directness and clarity of his teachings composed the text translated here, "Clarifying the Jewel Rosary of the Profound Fivefold Path".

Heruka two-armsKhenchen Konchog Gyaltshen Rinpoche was born in Tsari, Tibet. After escaping the Chinese takeover, Rinpoche received his Acharya degree and then studied for year with highly realized masters of the different lineages. He did the traditional three-year retreat, during which time he studied the Five-fold Profound Path of Mahamudra, the Six Yogas of Naropa, and other teachings. He is the founder of the Tibetan Meditation Center in Frederick, MD, and of several affiliated centers throughout the world.

Katherine Rogers holds a Ph.D. in Religious Studies from the University of Virginia, where she specialized in Tibetan Buddhism.

This text is a manual of practical instructions for students who are, or are thinking about, practicing the path of Mahamudra.

  Download / Read