Monday 24 February 2020
You are here:Blog»Philosophy»Buddhism»Dharma»End of Suffering
Friday, 16 June 2017 13:04

End of Suffering

The Noble Eightfold Path - coverThe Noble Eightfold Path
- The Way to the End of Suffering
 by Bhikkhu Bodhi

The essence of the Buddha's teaching can be summed up in two principles: the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path. The first covers the side of doctrine, and the primary response it elicits is understanding; the second covers the side of discipline, in the broadest sense of that word, and the primary response it calls for is practice.

Buddha ShakyamuniIn the structure of the teaching these two principles lock together into an indivisible unity called the dharma-vinaya, the doctrine-and-discipline, or, in brief, the Dharma. The internal unity of the Dharma is guaranteed by the fact that the last of the Four Noble Truths, the truth of the way, is the Noble Eightfold Path, while the first factor of the Noble Eightfold Path, right view, is the understanding of the Four Noble Truths. Thus the two principles penetrate and include one another, the formula of the Four Noble Truths containing the Eightfold Path and the Noble Eightfold Path containing the Four Truths.

The present book aims at contributing towards a proper understanding of the Noble Eightfold Path by investigating its eight factors and their components to determine exactly what they involve.

For full commitment to the practice of the path, however, especially in its advanced stages of concentration and insight, it will be extremely helpful to have contact with a properly qualified teacher.

  Download / Read

More in this category: « Going for Refuge Visuddhimagga »

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.