Sunday 20 September 2020
You are here:Blog»Philosophy»Buddhism»Dharma»Guhyasamaja Tantra
Sunday, 25 February 2018 19:35

Guhyasamaja Tantra

Note: This is the 15th volume of the Library of Tibetan Classic series.

A Lamp to Illuminate the Five Stages - coverA Lamp to Illuminate the Five Stages
· Teachings on Guhyasamaja Tantra
— by Tsongkhapa
- translated by Gavin Kilty

Tsongkhapa's A Lamp to Illuminate the Five Stages (1419) is a comprehensive presentation of the highest yoga class of Buddhist tantra, especially the key practices - the so-called five stages (pancakrama) - of the advanced phase of Guhyasamaja tantra.

GuhyasamajaBeginning with a thorough examination of the Indian sources, Tsongkhapa draws particularly from the writings of Nagarjuna, Aryadeva, Candrakirti, and Naropa to develop a definitive understanding of the Vajrayana completion stage.

Whereas in the generation stage, meditators visualize the Buddha in the form of the deity residing in a mandala palace, in the completion stage discussed in the present volume, meditators transcend ordinary consciousness and actualize the state of a buddha themselves.

Among other things, Tsongkhapa's work covers the subtle human physiology of channels and winds along with the process of dying, the bardo, and rebirth. This definitive statement on Guhyasamaja tantra profoundly affected the course of Buddhist practice in Tibet.

  Download / Read
[File about 42 MB]

More in this category: « Masters of Kadam Great Chariot »

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.